Menu Locking

When a user edits a menu item in the Channel Editor, the system locks the entire menu. Other users cannot edit that menu until the changes are either published or discarded. For details on enabling menu editing, see Enable 'edit menu' button that opens the menu editor.

You can only edit menus located in the hst:workspace through the Channel Editor.

When a user publishes menu changes from the Channel Editor, the system replaces the entire live menu with the updated version. The following example shows how this works:

/hst:hst: /hst:configurations: /example: /hst:workspace: /hst:sitemenus: jcr:primaryType: hst:sitemenus /main: jcr:primaryType: hst:sitemenu /home: jcr:primaryType: hst:sitemenuitem /about: jcr:primaryType: hst:sitemenuitem /footer: jcr:primaryType: hst:sitemenu /address: jcr:primaryType: hst:sitemenuitem /contact: jcr:primaryType: hst:sitemenuitem /example-preview: /hst:workspace: /hst:sitemenus: jcr:primaryType: hst:sitemenus /main: jcr:primaryType: hst:sitemenu hst:lockedby: john /home: jcr:primaryType: hst:sitemenuitem /about: jcr:primaryType: hst:sitemenuitem /new: jcr:primaryType: hst:sitemenuitem /footer: jcr:primaryType: hst:sitemenu hst:lockedby: jane /address: jcr:primaryType: hst:sitemenuitem /contact: jcr:primaryType: hst:sitemenuitem /route: jcr:primaryType: hst:sitemenuitem

In this scenario, when user john publishes changes, the system replaces the entire example/hst:workspace/hst:sitemenus/main node tree with the contents of example-preview/hst:workspace/hst:sitemenus/main. The hst:lockedby = john property is removed. Any changes made by user jane to the footer menu remain in place after john publishes. The lock on the main menu is released, while the footer menu remains locked.

Share Feedback
Page: /frontend/urls-routing/menu-locking
Section: Frontend
Category *